Homemade Puppy Treats That Even You Could Eat But Probably Shouldn’t

Hello! Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend in the Seattle sun! And if you don’t live in Seattle, I hope it was equally or more beautiful and sunny than it was here! I spent my days frolicking around outside and baking biscuits for a dog that is not mine, but is equally as cute and obese.

I have been wanting to give this a shot for about three years- ever since I bought my dog bone-shaped cookie cutter.  It was a life-changing experience. Not really, but I honestly didn’t realize how easy it is to do, and they last forever if you freeze them/your dog will never look up at you and say “‘Scuse me, this is a tad stale.”

image

I used a very, very basic recipe, but next time I think I’ll jazz it up a little bit with perhaps some carrots and broth.

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/3 cup natural peanut butter, chunky or smooth. (It is important that you use natural peanut butter that only contains peanuts and salt. No added sugar!)

1 cup milk or water

image
“Hey, if you could, like, not watch me, that would be great. You’re giving me a complex.”

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix flour and baking powder in a medium mixing bowl, then add peanut butter and liquid.

2. Roll out dough to a 1/4 inch thickness and cut into shapes with cookie cutters.

3. Place shapes on greased baking sheet about 1/2 an inch apart. Don’t worry about them being close together- they don’t spread. Bake for 20 minutes.

4. Move to wire cooling rack until completely cool and serve to your favorite four-legged friend! Or a human who doesn’t have a very refined pallet!

image
…and then there were three.

These were a great success! My little pig recipient seemed appreciative. In fact, as I was arranging a pile of them on the deck to photograph, he came on over and ate them all.

The next day, I was driving, spotted a homeless dog on a corner begging with his owner, and remembered that I had a bag of biscuits in my purse! His owner put a few in front of him and he was less than enthused, sniffing them and moving on.  I think his owner said to me that the dog had just eaten a pizza, but I couldn’t really hear him, as my window was up… So I’m just going to decide to believe that’s why he didn’t want them. I’m not offended. It’s whatever. Really.

“Bye!”

Leave a comment